Cooking

Carrot Muffins with Cream Cheese Icing

At 37 weeks pregnant I am finding playing the ‘waiting game’ not only difficult (as patience is not a virtue I embody whatsoever!) but I also don’t seem to grasp the concept of getting rest while I can and alas, rather than putting up my feet this morning I found myself in the kitchen going overboard with the bleach and so I decided before my nesting urges took me into another room I would do something a bit less energy consuming and BAKE!

Because the holiday season has just ended I wanted something that wasn’t too sweet in fear of a self induced sugar coma and upon opening the refrigerator door I became inspired by the nearly empty bag of carrots lingering in the veggie drawer and in need of some attention.

This recipe calls for applesauce and being ludacrous I went ahead and made my own but don’t feel bad if you want to throw in the store bought stuff – I won’t judge you one bit!
(I included my applesauce recipe below incase you have the same urges I did)

Carrot Muffins
1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup applesauce
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups grated carrot

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, grease muffin tins or line with baking cups.
Sift together flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a small bowl.
Add eggs to large bowl and beat with fork, add sugars and whisk until fully blended and mixture starts to turn frothy. Add applesauce, vanilla and carrot to the sugar mixture.
Fold in flour mixture and mix until combined. Spoon mix into prepared muffin tins until 3/4 full.
Bake 15 to 20 minutes until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Remove from tins and let cool completely.

Optional Cream Cheese Icing
1/4 cup cream cheese, softened
2 tbsp butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

With an electric mixer blend cream cheese and butter, add vanilla and confectioners sugar and blend 1 to 2 minutes until creamy and smooth.
Once muffins are fully cooled top with icing & enjoy!


Recipe makes one dozen regular sized muffins.

I had visions of adding chopped walnuts, raisins or dried cranberries to this recipe for some more depth but having none of those things on hand (or any desire to get out of my pj’s to go grocery shopping) I decided that today I would take the less is more approach.

Applesauce
6 cups apples, peeled, cored and chopped (I used fiji but use whatever you have or prefer)
3/4 cup water
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/2 cup brown sugar

In a large saucepan over medium heat combine all ingredients and bring to a boil.
Lower heat and simmer for 15 minutes until apples are quite tender and liquid has thickened.
Let cool and transfer to a container to refrigerate, you can also blend/puree if you prefer.

Leave a Reply

