Dinner

Fake-Out

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; despite my love for small town life there are times when conveniences (or lack thereof) make me long for a taste of the city…or a taste of take-out at the very least which leaves me to my own devices in the kitchen where I most recently whipped up a batch of Fake-Out (like take out but not…I would go on to say how clever I am but unfortunately I didn’t make that one up on my own)

Chinese Fake-Out Stir Fry
1 lb vermicelli noodles (or rice)
2 tsp sesame oil
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup chicken broth
1 tbsp peanut butter – chunky
2 tsp sugar
2 tsp minced ginger
1 tsp canola oil
2 cloves minced garlic
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 pkg frozen stir fry veggies
1 lb shrimp (or meat of choice)

Bring a pot of water to boil and cook noodles according to package. Drain and toss in a bowl with sesame oil.
In small bowl mix soy sauce, broth, peanut butter, sugar & ginger. Set aside.
Heat wok (or large frying pan) and add oil, garlic and red pepper flakes, cook for a minute then add veggies and cook until tender. Add thawed shrimp and cook through. Pour sauce mixture into pan and stir until veggies and shrimp are coated.
Serve shrimp mixture over noodles (or rice if you prefer).

And there you have it, just as easy and as quick as ordering out!

Leave a Reply

