Cooking

Corn Dog Muffins

In an attempt to mix things up for my 4 year olds lunch routine I decided to search for some fun ideas. I came across these darlings and I had to try them out, after all who wouldn’t want a corn dog disguised as a muffin?? YUM!
The first time I made them I went off a recipe I found online and I didn’t find them to be as appetizing as I was hoping for so this time I made my own adaptation and they turned out pretty good if I do say so myself!

Corn Dog Muffins

1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 can creamed corn (small)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup cornmeal
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 pack of hot dogs

Preheat the oven to 375 and grease muffin tins, I used mini muffin tins for bite sized ones.
In a large bowl whisk together melted butter and sugar then add the egg, buttermilk and creamed corn.
In a medium bowl mix the dry ingredients, once combined add to the wet mixture.
Slice the hot dogs into one inch pieces.
Spoon batter into muffin tins and place one slice of hot dog into the centre of each one. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Put the muffins in a sealed container and store in the fridge, when you’re ready to eat them just re-heat in the microwave for 20 seconds.

 

2 thoughts on “Corn Dog Muffins

Leave a Reply

