Baking

Cookie Therapy

There are few problems in life that cannot be fixed by chocolate, todays therapeutic recipe calls for some to be thrown into a cookie. Don’t hesitate to make these if you currently have no life problems but I assure they taste even better if you do!

One of my favourite recipe books is One Smart Cookie by Julie Van Rosendaal, she has pages of delicious recipes from cookies, squares, brownies and biscotti and they are all made with less fat than their conventional counterparts… I’ll be honest; I do not entirely care if my baked goods are a “healthier” option as long as they taste good I’m satisfied but I suppose it’s a bonus, right?

I recently made a batch of Gourmet Chocolate Chip Pecan cookies from Julie’s book, half the batch went to a friend in need and the other half…I’d rather not discuss that…but here is the recipe:

Gourmet Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies

1/4 cup margarine/butter softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 large egg
2 tbsp corn syrup
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
3/4 cup finely ground oats (use a food processor/magic bullet for this)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. I prefer to use convection when baking.
In a large bowl, beat margarine and brown sugar until combined. Add egg, corn syrup and vanilla and beat until smooth.
In a medium bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda and salt. Add to sugar mixture and stir by hand until combined; add chocolate chips and pecans and stir until blended.
Drop spoonfuls of dough onto greased cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

I used tablespoons to scoop the dough and made 28 cookies, which means if you do the math more than half the batch…err disappeared!

And with a simple brown paper bag and craft stamp I turned these little bites of heaven into a gift for a darling friend in need of some sweet therapy!

Leave a Reply

