Baking

The Most Amazing Chocolate Cupcakes. Ever.

The heavenly scent of freshly baked cupcakes seems to be lingering in my nostrils these days and while that may not be all that bad I have made a shocking discovery during my bake-a-thon.
Whilst mixing various cupcake batter over the past few weeks I felt I was somehow being driven by excessive force, firstly I chaulked it up to hauling around Little N’s car seat for the last 6 months and thought I must have sprouted some Mom muscle but to my dismay it seems that it was just some extra jiggle throwing my arm harder into mixing as I have fallen victim to bakers arm. Instead of crying and immediately putting on a sweater I decided to eat cupcakes with lots of icing on them and let me tell you, they were amazing.

My first batch was a decadent chocolate cupcake with strawberry buttercream icing, the second batch was an equally decadent mint chocolate chip cupcake with mint buttercream icing.
Both were  delicious and both disappeared in minutes. {I swear I shared them!}

The Most Amazing Chocolate Cupcakes Ever
recipe from Martha Stewart

3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup warm water
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 tbsp canola oil
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake tins with paper liners.
Sift together dry ingredients and blend, add in wet ingredients and mix until smooth.
Divide evenly among cups filling each 2/3 full.
Bake for 20 minutes, remove from oven and cool completely on wire rack.

*For mint chocolate chip cupcakes add 1/2 cup of mint chocolate chips to the batter.

Strawberry Buttercream Icing

1 cup butter
3 cups confectioners sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3-4 tbsp heavy cream
1/4 cup strawberry puree

Blend butter and sugar until combined. Add vanilla, cream and puree and mix.
Icing must be kept cool or the puree will begin to separate from the sugars, refrigerate iced cupcakes until consumed.

Mint Buttercream Icing

1 cup butter
3 cups confectioners sugar
1 tsp vanilla
3-4 tbsp heavy cream
1/4 tsp pure peppermint extract
blue or green food colouring

Blend butter and sugar until combined. Add vanilla, cream and peppermint and mix. Slowly add the food colouring and mix until desired colour is reached.

These beauties are rich with chocolate flavour, sweet but not too sweet and perfectly moist. Everyone will love ’em!

2 thoughts on “The Most Amazing Chocolate Cupcakes. Ever.

Leave a Reply

