Baking

Celebration Cupcakes

Cupcakes tend to be the “go-to” for celebratory food and I just had a weekend spent with someone very deserving of a celebration.

The someone was my Mom and aside from being The Greatest Mom Ever here is a little more on why she was deserving of a celebration.
Shortly before Christmas last year my Mom felt a lump in her breast and went in to get it checked out, in early January it was confirmed that she had breast cancer. Over the last 6 months I have watched my Mother lose her hair, her appetite and her energy but something she never lost was her optimism and strength.
On Friday, July 27th my Mom had her final round of chemotherapy, she now moves onto her double masectomy followed by radiation therapy. While we still have a long road ahead of us to recovery I have no doubt in my mind that my Mom will kick cancer in the butt!
In celebration of her strength and bravery in coming this far I made some celebratory cupcakes in her honour for our family to share over the long weekend we spent out at the lake together because there are two things that me and my Mom have in common, we enjoy eating good food and drinking good wine – which is exactly what we did!

Batch one was vanilla which I used a recipe from one of my favourite blogs {Thank you Bakergirl!} which was super yummy, it had a sugar cookie taste to it. Batch two was an ode to my Mom’s favourite drink the London Fog; which is an earl grey tea latte with vanilla syrup. I found just the right recipe on Happy Lamp’s blog and it turned out great – I decided to go with vanilla buttercream rather than the tea infused buttercream that they used in their recipe although I’m sure it would have been equally delicious.

Va-Va-Vanilla Cupcakes
*slightly adapted from Bakergirl

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sour cream
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake tray with paper liners and set aside.
In a medium bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
In a large bowl comine butter, sour cream, eggs and vanilla and mix. Gradually add the flour mixture to bowl and mix until incorporated.
Spoon batter into lined cupcake tins 2/3 full and bake for 20-25 minutes.
Transfer to a wire rack to cool {allow to cool completely before icing}

London Fog Cupcakes
*from HappyLamp

1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbsp milk
2 tsp loose leaf earl grey tea leaves {I used Teaopia’s Earl Grey} or 3 earl grey tea bags

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cupcake tray with paper liners and set aside.
Pour milk into a mug and place tea bags in, microwave for 30 seconds OR heat milk and use whatever loose leaf tea strainer method you have – steep for 5 minutes.
In a large bowl cream butter and sugar, add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined.
In a medium bowl whisk flour, baking powder and salt. Gradually add the flour mixture to sugar mixture, alternating with the milky tea, and stir until combined.
Spoon batter into cupcake liners until 2/3 full and bake for 20 minutes.

I opted to top both cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream, if you want to jazz up the icing for the London Fog cupcakes you can always steep earl grey tea into the milk (just the same as you do for the cupcakes) and add it to the icing rather than plain milk/cream. I topped my vanilla cupcakes with the Vanilla Buttercream then sprinkled shredded coconut on top (dyed with food colouring). Be creative and use whatever you have on hand.

Vanilla Buttercream Icing

1 cup butter
3 cups confectioners sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp milk or heavy cream

Blend butter and sugar on low speed until incorporated. Add vanilla and milk/cream to bowl and mix on low for 2-3 minutes until fluffy.
Pipe or spread onto cooled cupcakes.
*You can make your own piping bag by spooning the icing into a ziplock bag and cutting a small tip from one corner of the bottom, simply squeeze the icing through the hole onto your cupcakes/cake. If you have decorated tips squeeze them through the hole (make sure it’s not too big that they will get pushed through) until the tip is poking through, add the icing to the bag and voila!

2 thoughts on “Celebration Cupcakes

  1. This made me cry both from sadness and joy! You and your Mom are both remarkable women and I am so blessed to have both of you in my life! Here’s to cupcakes and wine!

Leave a Reply

