Baking

My Name is Little Wife and I have a problem…

I have created a monster. A Peanut Butter Nutella monster… if you tried my Peanut Butter Nutella Swirl Cookies from last week you are probably on the same page. If you are up for joining a P.B. & N. support group, let me know. If you are up for eating copious amounts of P.B. & N. any chance you get, let me know also.

It seems I am not the only one in my house affected by this phenomena as my Son has been asking me to bake him more cookies (which he has NEVER before asked me to do… apparently my sweet tooth wasn’t passed onto him or hasn’t developed yet) but in between packing for vacation, cleaning the house (I don’t know why I think that my house must be clean before I go away… nobody will be in it besides kitty Tom… and he will probably shed his hair everywhere in revolt to us leaving him) and doing never ending laundry to pack some more I decided that baking just wasn’t in the cards this week.

That is until last night when I was searching for something peanut buttery… or nutella-ey… or peanut butter nutella-ey… and came up empty handed. While I rocked back and forth on the couch going through P.B.&N. withdraw an idea popped into my head… an evil idea… an evil genious idea… P.B.&N. + rice crisps + chocolate chips = quick and easy way to heaven in my mouth.
So I scooped spoonfuls of peanut butter into a pot… squeezed the life out of my corn syrup bottle and dumped some brown sugar until it melted into a delicious sweet gooeyness begging for some action. In went the rice crisps, chocolate chips and a few table spoons of the good stuff.
I mixed, I poured into a baking dish, I sideways glancing around kitchen and shoved mouthfuls of warm gooey delicious evil into my mouth over the sink… three or four tablespoons later Hubby walked in on me, I was caught in the act.
Instead of throwing me an intervention he came to my side, took the spoon and helped himself. No questions, no judgment… that my friends, is love!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip & Nutella Rice Crispy Squares

1 cup brown sugar
1 cup corn syrup
1 1/3 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup chocolate chips
4 1/2 cups rice crispies
2 tbsp nutella

In a large pot over medium low heat melt the peanut butter and corn syrup, add brown sugar and stir constantly until well blended. Remove from heat and add rice crisps, chocolate chips and nutella. Mix well.
Pour into a greased baking dish and press down flat. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to harden before cutting into squares.

4 thoughts on “My Name is Little Wife and I have a problem…

Leave a Reply

