Cooking · Dinner

Comfort Food

I am a creature of comfort… I enjoy making and eating the recipes that are tried and true rather than dive into a culinary adventure…especially when it’s cold out and all I REALLY want to do is sit under a warm blanket, watch netflix and eat comfort food, it’s my thing.

Today I tried out a new version of one of these comforts, tuna casserole!
I will admit that I am a fan of the boxed tuna helper version with the crunchy topping  but I heard about a from scratch recipe made with mushroom soup and had the impulse to try it out, however I had no cheese in the fridge so I used a box of mac and cheese. If you do have cheese and don’t want to use boxed mac and cheese then just substitute the ingredients for 2 cups of pasta and add 2 cups of shredded cheese to the soup mixture.

Baked Tuna Casserole
1 box Annies white macaroni and cheese
1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup milk (and 2 tbsp)
2 celery stalks, diced
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 can tuna
1 small onion, diced
1 tbsp garlic, minced
1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook macaroni until al dente and remove half a cup of the starchy liquid before draining and put aside.
In a dutch oven (or medium pot) over medium low heat combine EVOO, onion and garlic and cook for 5 minutes. Add celery and frozen peas, cook another 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Add soup and milk and stir until combined. Pour cooked macaroni into soup mixture.
Using the still warm pasta pot pour in starchy liquid and add cheese sauce mixture and 2 tbsp of milk, whisk until combined and add to soup mixture.
Bake for 20 minutes.

I was not thinking clearly as this dish would be perfect topped with breadcrumbs, don’t be like me and top it off properly or you will live the rest of your life filled with regrets wondering what it could have been.

Leave a Reply

