Baking

OMG Cookies

Most of the time I waste spend on Pinterest is pinning craft ideas or laughing at Grumpy Cat pictures… sometimes I pin food but the chances of me trying to make something I’ve pinned is slim to none because like my favourite Pinterest lady says:

humour

She gets me every time!

But then my Mom came over to spend a few days with us and we were consumed in a bake-a-thon where we actually created 2 things that my Mom pinned. First we made candied pecans which were good and I might recommend them to you if I hadn’t eaten half the bag giving myself a sugar coma…needless to say I am off sugared nuts these days. What I do want to share are the OH MY GOD Cookies we made… okay they are actually called Chocolate Pecan Caramel Cookies or Turtle Cookies but one bite will bring you to an OMG moment. They’re THAT good!
I admit I had a moment of “Ain’t nobody got time for dat” when I read the directions and saw the dough had to be chilled and then you had to roll it in the nuts and then melt the caramel… I’m a gal of simplicity and the step after step after step was overwhelming me…but I promise if you try this you will not regret it! {Unless you eat them all and it ruins your diet… nope, still no regrets!}

Chocolate Pecan Caramel Cookies/Turtle Cookies
*recipe from The Kitchen Is My Playground blog

Dough:
1 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup sugar
2 eggs, separated
2 Tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup pecans
Caramel Filling:
14 soft caramels
3 tbsp heavy cream
Chocolate Drizzle:
2 oz semi sweet chocolate
1 tsp shortening

In a medium bowl combine the flour, cocoa, salt and set aside. In a large bowl cream the butter and sugar, add 1 egg yolk, milk and vanilla and mix until incorporated. Add flour mixture in small batches and mix until combined. Cover bowl and chill dough for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl whisk the egg whites until frothy. Place chopped pecans in a separate bowl.
Roll cookie dough into 1-inch balls, dip in egg whites and coat with nuts then place on baking sheet. Make an indentation (I used a tsp for this) in the centre of each ball for the caramel filling. Bake cookies for 12 minutes.

Prepare caramel filling while cookies are finishing in the oven. In a small bowl microwave the caramels and cream, stirring occasionally until smooth, 1-2 minutes. When cookies are baked and removed from oven re-press the centre indentations and fill will caramel. Allow to cool completely.

Fill a small ziploc bag with chocolate and shortening, immerse bag in a bowl of warm water until melted. Snip off a small corner of the bag and pipe chocolate across cookies.
Recipe yields approximately 30 cookies.

Turtle Cookies 1

Doesn’t that picture just make you want to lick the screen? No? Me neither…

Leave a Reply

