Health & Fitness

Birthday Detox

There are times in life when a gal feels a little weighed down and as if she isn’t functioning at her best… these times can be brought on by too many Crave cupcakes or a few too many delicious drinks that may or may not have contained alcohol and in some instances a bit of both. In my case these indulgences were in part of my Birthday celebration, I recently survived passed a milestone Birthday and in my zombie state I was desperate to find something to rid the excess from my system. Luckily I remembered seeing a link about a Detox Bath from *drumroll* Pinterest (I know, I’m addicted, the first step is admitting the problem) so in my sugar/alcohol haze I found the How To and I Diddily Did.

A detox bath is said to help your body rid toxins (through sweating) as well as absorb nutrients from the water.

You will need:
20-40 minutes
Epsom salts – 2 cups
Baking soda – 1 to 2 cups

Fill the tub with comfortably hot water and add the ingredients, swish together to dissolve. You can also add essential oils such as lavender or eucalyptus, I had none on hand but I did add two bricks of Glacier Spa Mud (purchased from Rocky Mountain Soap Company).
Immerse yourself in the water and soak for a minimum of 20 minutes or up to 40 minutes. You should start to sweat after the first few minutes.

A few things to keep in mind:
To effectively eliminate toxins you need to flush your system with water. You should drink a good amount before, during and after to remain hydrated and aid in the detox.
Take it slow, if you start to feel dizzy slowly get out of the water and sit down.
Most importantly, relax!

Amazingly after my bath I really did feel refreshed and renewed, I was skeptical but it actually did the trick.

zombiebath
Note my zombie state, lack of fun-bags and try not to be jealous of my mad computer art skills.
I’m definitely going to try this another day (when I am not on the verge of death).

Leave a Reply

