Baking

Auss-Eh! Bites

If you enjoy healthy alternatives and the occasional “Wait, how much did I just spend?” trip to Costco then you may have come across Aussie Bites before. They are a mini muffin type granola bar with tons of great ingredients like oats, dried fruit, quinoa and flax seeds. They’re a great mid-day snack or grab and go breakfast option for those of us who don’t have time to eat properly as we rush into our day.

After buying a few cases of these and going through them surprisingly fast I decided to try making them myself because as I mentioned above I seem to have a problem staying on track with my budget when shopping at Costco…
My first attempt making these I used applesauce in place of the honey and oil but I found it came out too moist for my liking so this time around I doubled the honey and they came out great with more granola bar texture which I prefer. Feel free to substitute the dried fruit or nut ingredients to your liking or what you have on hand. I have altered the recipe I originally found online, made it my own and renamed these Auss-Eh! Bites (it’s okay if I’m the only one who laughs at that… I’m no stranger to being easily amused by my own lame puns…).

Auss-Eh! Bites
Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup dried apricots
1/2 cup dried raisins (I use a raisin, cranberry, cherry blend)
1/4 cup coconut flakes
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup cooked quinoa
2 TBSP chia seeds
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup honey (or 1/4 cup honey and 1/4 cup oil)
1/4 cup butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease 24 mini muffin tins {I used coconut oil to grease}
In a food processor combine 1 cup of oats and pulse until finely ground. Add the remaining oats, brown sugar, apricots, raisins, coconut, flaxseed, sunflower seeds, quinoa, chia seeds and baking soda. Pulse until the dried fruits are in bits.
Melt butter and honey and add to mixture, pulse until ingredients are combined.
Spoon into muffin tins and bake for 8-10 minutes – when you can see the edges have browned they are done.
*Makes 24 mini muffin sized bites.

 

IMG_0468

2 thoughts on “Auss-Eh! Bites

    1. Thank you Brooke, I used my heart silicone moulds for some of them but the tops puffed over while baking… oops! I hope you give the recipe a try and enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

