If It’s Chilly Outside, It’s Chili Inside

Chili is one of my favourite comfort foods. To me it’s perfect for a cold day when you want a hearty meal to fill you up. Off topic, I am starting to realize that my Fall menu rotation is my favourite rotation of the whole year which is more than likely a major reason I favour Fall as a season… it’s all about the food!

My Dad has always been the ultimate chili chef in the household, no matter what ingredients he switches up for it’s always a great bowl of chili. I have my hits and misses with perfecting my own recipe but this one turned out so good it may even rival the champ!

Ultimate Chili
1 lb ground beef
2 celery stalks, chopped
1 small yellow onion, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 red apple, chopped
1 tsp paprika
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp seasoning salt
1 tsp chipotle powder
1 medium can chili style tomatoes
1 can maple beans
1 can chili style beans
1 large can kidney beans
1 tsp Franks hot sauce
1 tsp Chipotle sauce
1 tbsp brown sugar

In a large pot over medium-high heat, brown beef. Add celery, onion, paprika, garlic powder, seasoning salt and chipotle powder. Cook for 2-3 minutes then add remaining ingredients. Simmer on low for 1-2 hours.

The mix of sweet and spicy was perfect and although my son thought it was “weird” there were apples in his supper he gladly ate them and in my opinion they were a great addition.

Happy Fall Y’all!

Published by Kendra

Just a girl trying to make ripples in a pool full of waves.

Leave a comment